THE DESIGNER

Behind The Camelia bijoux hides Lucie Fossemalle, a french designer with an atypical background.

Creation has always been a part of my life. Like all children, I loved to draw, cut, glue etc. As soon as I was old enough to make more accomplished creations, I turned to jewelry design. At 10 years old, I was already selling my first gourmet jewellery on my Skyblog (You might not know it but it was a very popular blogging plateform for teenagers in France). Over the years, I have been able to explore a multitude of different techniques and evolve my style.

In parallel with my studies in political science in Lyon, I continued to create through the realization of creative tutorials on my blog and my books. At the end of my five years of study, I decided to pursue my dream and officially launch my jewelry brand.

The click finally happened during my internship at the Embroidery School of Salé, in Morocco.It is an association that trains young people from disadvantaged backgrounds to professions related to the embroidery arts. The association also aims to preserve this Moroccan know-how which is gradually disappearing. This association was founded by Fadila el Gadi a renowned Moroccan designer. For six months, I was in charge of managing the association. So I had the chance to sit around wonderful embroideries every day all for six months. 

The embroidery that immediately caught my attention is the Fez embroidery with its geometric patterns are exacty the same on both sides ( See "Creation" for more information ). I immediately thought about using this embroidery for jewelry making. After months of learning, it was decided, I was going to launch my embroidered jewelry brand!

This is how The Camelia bijoux was born! (And "bijoux" means "jewelry" if you were wondering ;))

In a sabra shop (vegetable silk made from aloe vera) in Meknes.

LA CRÉATRICE

Derrière The Camelia bijoux se cache Lucie Fossemalle, une créatrice au parcours atypique.

La création a toujours fait partie de ma vie. Comme tous les enfants, j’adorais dessiner, découper, assembler, coller etc. Dès que j’ai été en âge de faire des créations plus abouties, je me suis tournée vers la création de bijouxA 10 ans, je vendais déjà mes premiers bijoux gourmands sur mon Skyblog (oui vous avez bien lu!). Au fil des années, j’ai pu explorer une multitude de techniques différentes et faire évoluer mon style. 

En parallèle de mes études à Sciences Po Lyon, j’ai continué de créer à travers la réalisation de tutoriels créatifs sur mon blog et dans mes livres. A la fin de mes cinq années d’études, j’ai décidé de poursuivre mon rêve de toujours et de lancer officiellement ma marque de bijoux. 

Le déclic s’est finalement produit lors de mon stage de fin d’études à l’Ecole de broderie de Salé, au Maroc. Il s’agit d’une association qui forme des jeunes issus de milieux défavorisés aux métiers liés aux arts de la broderie. L’association a également pour objectif la préservation de ce savoir-faire marocain qui disparaît peu à peu. Cette association a été fondée par Fadila el Gadi une styliste marocaine de renom. Pendant six mois, j’ai été en charge de la gestion de l’association. J’ai donc eu la chance de côtoyer tous les jours des broderies toutes plus merveilleuses les unes que les autres. 

Celle qui a tout de suite su retenir mon attention est la broderie de Fès avec ses motifs géométriques identiques envers comme endroit (Voir « La création » pour en savoir plus.). J’ai immédiatement pensé à utiliser cette broderie pour la confection de bijoux. Après des mois d’apprentissage, c’était décidé, j’allais lancer ma marque de bijoux brodés ! 

C’est ainsi que The Camelia bijoux est né!

Dans une échoppe de sabra (soie végétale réalisée à partir d’aloe vera) à Meknès.

fr_FRFrançais
en_GBEnglish (UK) fr_FRFrançais